How To Get Maryland Concealed Carry Permit?
Having a concealed weapon may help you keep yourself safe and secure, especially when you can’t rely on the police or professional services for protection. Whether you need to own a firearm for self-defense or you need a firearm for a professional need, Maryland state laws stipulate that you should have a concealed carry permit or the Maryland Wear/Handgun Permit (WCHP).
Having a permit for it ensures that you are legally allowed to carry the firearm/handgun. So how can you get Maryland concealed carry permit?
What is A Concealed Carry Permit?
First things first, what is a concealed carry permit? The Maryland Wear/Carry Handgun Permit, or WCHP, is a permit issued by the Secretary of the Maryland State Police. This permit allows you to carry a handgun and identifies that you have a legitimate reason for carrying it. No individual is allowed to carry a concealed weapon without first getting an MSP-issued Maryland concealed carry permit.
How To Get A Maryland Concealed Carry Permit?
Here is a short guide on getting your Maryland Concealed Carry permit.
- Acquaint Yourself with the Requirements
Before applying for a Maryland concealed carry permit, you must first acquaint yourself with the requirements.
- You should be at least 21 (or 18 years old if you require the firearm for employment purposes).
- You should not have been convicted of a felony/misdemeanor that would sentence you to one year or more of prison.
- You should not use or distribute controlled, dangerous substances, and you should not be an alcoholic, addict, or someone with a tendency for violence or instability.
- Find a Handgun Training Professional
Another major requirement for getting a concealed carry permit is to first complete a firearms training course that is approved by the Maryland Secretary of State of Police. The training course should introduce you to firewall laws, help you see the mechanism and workings of a handgun, and guide you on safety regulations. You should only get training from a Maryland State Police-approved handgun instructor.
Moreover, the training should cover at least 16 hours of instruction. Only individuals who demonstrate a 70% score on the course are qualified for a Maryland Concealed Carry permit.
- Apply for Your Official Handgun Wear and Carry Permit
If you complete the training course successfully, you will receive a certificate of handgun training or documentation verifying you qualify for a concealed carry permit. Once you get that, you will then apply for the Maryland WCHP through the state’s official licensing portal. The application process may take up to 90 days to complete. Until then, you will not be allowed to carry a firearm, so wait until you get your permit!
Having a concealed weapon close by will help keep you secure. As a law-abiding citizen, make sure you carry your permit with you and are legally allowed to house a firearm. To get your state-approved WCHP, sign up with a verified concealed carry training program today!